It’s even bigger than I thought

I’ve never in my life been extremely blown away by anything.  I honestly can say, there has only been a few moments where I have truly been speechless.  My mind raced with emotion, thoughts, and adrenaline to the point where I had to stop whatever I was doing:

1. My last high school baseball game ever played.  Cheesy and stupid, probably.  Nonetheless, I was speechless.  I remember getting dropped off by the team bus to our home field where our cars were parked.  I sat in the dug out with my best friend since 2nd grade and many other guys that I had shared a passion with for years… and it had all ended.  In that moment, I was blown away…

2. Walking alongside a high school guy wrestling with the concept of Jesus, salvation, the cross, and if it was all actually true.  And if it was why did it matter?  Seeing the Holy Spirit woo this young man to Himself over the course of a semester and it all coming to a boiling point one night with his closest friends and myself when he finally said, “I need Jesus, and I think he’s worth giving up everything else.”  Never in my life have I tangibly seen a transformation of the heart happen like that SO intentionally.  I was stunned and for a moment, speechless.

3. The second my best friend, and now wife, locked eyes with me as she walked down the aisle on our wedding day.  People always talk about their “tears of joy”, and I’ve never really bought that… but when I saw my wife walking to me, ready to commit to loving my jacked up self, I for the first time felt and experienced tears of joy… and in that moment, I was blown away.

4.  These past two days…..

This whole writing thing has been so good for me.  Not only blogging, but simply writing more on my own time.  My thoughts, analysis of things, and opinions.  It has helped me develop a stronger sense of foundation for where I find Truth and how I will apply it.  However, this week, I have been blown away by my small view of what the Gospel is, and how BIG it is.  Let me explain….

I’m reading the book of John right now, for personal devotion and study, but also because my ministry will be unpacking it next year.  I am also currently reading, Explicit Gospel, by Matt Chandler.  And as I expected, it’s tremendous.

Seriously, just pick it up and read it.

I have always loved and fallen passionately in love what the Gospel is to me personally, and the implications it has on my life, personally.  You can ask anyone that has watched or heard me preach at anything, to college kids, youth, or even peers.  Once I start talking about the state of our lives before Christ and where we are after Christ–I’m in my sweet spot.  Chandler in his book calls this part of the gospel the “gospel on the ground” view.  To him, this is only part of it.  And for me, it was as far as I ever got.

Silly me.  This story is even bigger than I thought…

Chandler spends about 50 pages in his book discussing the “gospel in the air”.

Oh. My. Goodness.

I have never in my life even processed through the eternal implications and reality of what was, is, and is coming to be of not only my personal life, but the entirety of Creation because of the cosmic cross of Jesus Christ.  By now, the only people reading this blog are people that know me and know that this is a place where I dialogue about Christ so here we go….

This is HUGE.  The cross didn’t just effect my sins, reconciling me to the cross, but it was the turning point of Christ redeeming the entirety of both the spiritual creation (souls) but also the physical creation (the world).  He created this for His glory, and he is making a spectacle out of it for HIS glory.(Isaiah 40:3-4)  This is where the term “mission” comes from.  Because we are actually a part of the most incredible STORY of all time, that is unfolding right in front of our eyes!

Okay, and this through me over the top.

What’s nuts is this….

This world is broken.  It’s fallen.  We see that from the beginning, but it’s not just MAN that’s fallen.  It’s the world itself.  That’s why there is so much natural disaster and chaos.  Scripture calls it “birthing pains”.  Everything we see, touch, smell, feel on this earth is not in its PUREST form.  That’s God’s job to reconcile those things back to himself one day.  So case and point…. the beautiful sunsets we see, the incredible mountain ranges we witness, THOSE ARE broken creation still.  He hasn’t even scratched the surface with what he can do.

Wait, what? Creation itself isn’t perfect yet?

No.  Things die.  Rose bushes need water.  Eventually the wither and fall from the vines.  Trees grow and grow and grow to eventually die.  All creation, like man, is broken and needs to be restored.  And one day it will….

As I have been reading these chapters… I truly and honestly was blown away.  Why did I think that my God didn’t have his hand in every little detail?  He is a meticulous God.  He is so massively and incredibly perfect in his plan that everything in the midst of all the chaos is leading up to make perfect sense.

That God created.  He sustained.  And he will reconcile the world back to its original and perfect status….

Reflecting His Glory.  Revealing His Kingdom.  And most of all….

His.

Leave a Reply

