Where did the time go?

As I sit in my in-laws living room watching Baylor play Texas Tech at Dallas Stadium, it dawned on me, time is moving fast.  It was two years ago today that I was sitting in Dallas stadium watching this exact game with my girlfriends family.  We had been dating for about 6 months and I flew back to Texas to spend the weekend watching Baylor play Tech with her family.  Big deal.  Here I am two years later and man has life shifted.  

At that time I didn’t know much.  Let me walk you through my train of thought and what was for sure at that time in my life:

1. I was a junior in college & was obsessed with my 5 best friends.

2. I had no idea what I wanted to do as a job, but I knew I didn’t want to sit at a desk all day. 

3. I was enamored with my new beautiful girlfriend but was crazy insecure with my ability to just “do things right” this time around.  

4. Was just rocked by my selfishness and need for self glorification, thanks to a month spent in the Dominican Republic doing mission work.

5. I was in love with the ministry that I was involved with at K-Life and my role in my small group dudes lives.

Two years later, here I am: Married to someone who loves me despite my continual arrogance and mis-haps.  Working for a youth ministry full time and being a part of the Lord work in a city that my heart breaks for.  Been put in a place of mentorship-like relationships with two mighty men in college that I have seen grow in their heart for the Word of God.  And I have a confidence in my faith and how to explain to others the reasons WHY.  

It’s humbling that my God has given me such gifts.  It’s encouraging as to how the Lord is writing my story.  And it’s challenging to know that I am called to hold up my end of the deal and be obedient in all of the above things.  

Holidays are sappy, so I would love to crack it up to simply that.  But I think it’s important to look back on where we once were…where God has brought us…and where he is taking us.  My hope is this– that we all look back on these things and can see tangible sanctification happening.  But above that, we see Grace.  Because no matter what our stories tell; we don’t deserve it.  

Was this sappy and Hallmark-like…?  Absolutely.  

Is it all true though?…No doubt.

“give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus” – 1 Thessalonians 5:18

 

Leave a Reply

