It’s a simple message

“Garrett, you are just another part of the ME generation!”

I looked up, face scrunched in perplexity, and didn’t know HOW to respond to that statement.  My professor must have felt like that wasn’t enough, so he kept going on this topic that I guess we all needed to hear.  I should’ve asked if this would be on the final exam.  But that’s selfish of me.

After class, I did what all brilliant 18 year olds did, mentally processed how he was wrong and I was right…naturally.  So on my walk back from class I ran through all the reasons why I was NOT a part of this “ME generation”

I serve the less fortunate, I lead a small group of high school students, I give money to the poor(sometimes), I am thoughtful of others…. and the list went on.  There, I was above the curve on this quiz, moving on next subject.

Looking back, there were a lot of I’s in that defense…..Hmmmm. Touche professor.  You win, you always do.  So I started listening to my professors, and low and behold I learned something quite valuable.

As I went through college, my professors in my Journalism and Public Relations classes continued to harp on this question, “Who is your audience? and what is your voice?”  They all continually addressed this issue.  In whatever occupation or job field that you enter you will always have a voice that people will listen to.  Who are those people, and how will you portray you message?  It is important to craft this skill.  So they buried it in our heads.  I ended up doing an internship for a corporate PR firm in Waco and had the opportunity to listen to a bunch of voices.  We talked about the company’s audience and how we will portray the message of our products well to them.  I heard things like: It has to be attractive, but not in your face.  You need to be focused, but can’t hammer it home too much.  The product needs style, but can’t look like it’s trying to hard.

Then my boss stood up and led with these questions:

Think about what they need, and build the product around that.

What about what they want? How can our product enhance their experience?

….and the conversation went on.

I guess having a voice and understanding you have an audience is a little important.

This is my first blog post.  I want to apologize in advance if you have certain expectations coming from my words because I can promise that you will not find that here.  What I can offer you is this, my voice.  I have learned that my voice holds weight.  Whether heavy or light, my voice has weight.  And my audience hears it.  My hope is that I portray my message adequately.  That’s all I want.  With that said, my voice is my life: the victories, the failures, and all the in betweens.

So I hope that this gives me an opportunity to open a door to my voice, my message.  So stop by from time to time, I can’t promise it will be valuable to you, but I can promise it will be insightful to my message.  A very wise man put it like this:

“All of this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the word to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them.  And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation.  We are therefore, Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us.”- 2 Corinthians 5:18-20

Well, it’s safe to say Paul’s voice is quite clear here.  A little bit of a paradox though, I hope we get this.  Paul’s got a message and voice and he is quick to tell it.  But this message isn’t his.  The story isn’t about him, but it is his to tell.  His message was clear, and his voice portrayed it well.  I would consider myself part of Paul’s audience?   I go back to the schemes and strategies of my internship company and I think Paul would have gotten a bonus:

Think about what they need and build the product around that? Check.  I daily need to be reminded that I have been reconciled to Christ, no matter what I have done or continue to do.  I have been seen as righteous in the eyes of God now.  I need that confidence.

How can the product enhance their experience?  Check, and check.  What better way to enhance our relationship with Christ then to bring this message to others.  Hello….that’s my audience.  Shouldn’t it be all believers?

So do we portray that message with our voice? Or do we just read about people doing it, hear people doing it and call that “enough”?

Does my voice tell another story?  Or am I still part of the “Me generation”.

I’m ready to find out, that’s for sure.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

